Our members

ATN Universities celebrates 25th anniversary

11 February 2024

ATN Universities celebrates 25 years of world-class collaboration and policy influence

The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) is celebrating 25 years of sectoral leadership in Higher Education.

Officially formed on February 11, 1999, the ATN group of universities has gone from strength to strength, with outstanding collaboration, helping to deliver game-changing outcomes across policy and public affairs.

ATN Chair, Professor Harlene Hayne CNZM, said key to ATN’s success and longevity are the shared common goals of equity and excellence, and a drive by all the universities to positively contribute to  their communities.

“A quarter century of high-level advocacy backed by best practice collaboration between our universities is a testament to the strength of the ATN,” Prof Hayne said.

“The significance of our peak body celebrating the milestone of 25 years at the same time as a significant year of reform through the Universities Accord, is not lost on us. We were pleased to see the Government act quickly on some of our key recommendations which were reflected in the Interim Report by the Accord’s expert panel, led by Professor Mary O’Kane AC, and we look forward to the release of the final report by Education Minister Jason Clare, in a few weeks.”

ATN Interim Executive Director, Frank Coletta, said the contributions of those who helped build the group and those who have overseen its growth and helped establish ATN as sectoral leaders in policy, will be recognised across the year.

“From the team members there when the original MOU was signed, our past and present VCs and Chairs, to the staff across Australia – we will honour their contributions and leadership over the years,” he said.

“Today we have officially launched our new website, where all our advocacy work and the achievements of our members are on full display with the modern, eye-catching design work befitting our innovative, world-class group of universities.

“This will be a memorable moment in time for all involved, doubly so, given we are preparing for the unveiling of the Universities Accord and the subsequent reforms which will provide the pathway for Higher Education for decades to come.”

Media Contact


The Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) was established in 1999 and brings together six of Australia’s leading universities focused on enterprise, impact and finding solutions to issues facing our rapidly changing economy and society. Our member universities are Curtin University, Deakin University, RMIT University, The University of Newcastle, University of South Australia, and University of Technology Sydney. Our universities produce Australia’s most job-ready graduates and undertake world-class research with real-world impact. Through our innovation and leadership, we are proud disruptors challenging the status quo. ATN universities provide world-class education to almost 310,000 students and teach 20 per cent of domestic higher education students, along with 19 per cent of international students and we are the fastest-growing university grouping in terms of domestic students. Together, we are proud of who we include, not exclude, with a strong commitment to equity, excellence, and social justice. ATN is one of Australia’s leading university peak bodies with a track record of advocating and shaping positive policy outcomes with all levels of government.

Curabitur porttitor dignissim ex ac blandit. Duis sem enim, gravida quis mi in, pellentesque feugiat magna. Sed viverra, neque et sodales condimentum, libero arcu eleifend metus, non porta justo urna vitae augue. Pellentesque in dolor vehicula, dignissim libero quis, aliquam nunc.