FAPESP Researcher Exchange Scheme

The ATN has partnered with one of Brazil's leading research bodies, the State of São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP) to promote collaboration between researchers from ATN universities in Australia and researchers from the State of Sao Paulo, Brazil, through the funding of joint research projects. 

The foundation provides grants through the São Paulo Researchers in International Collaboration (SPRINT) to support the research, education and innovation of both private and public institutions in São Paulo.

Researchers in labCall for proposals

The ATN and the Sao Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP) are calling for researchers to participate in the exchange scheme as part of the SPRINT 2nd Edition 2017.

More information about this call for applicants is also available on the FAPESP website in Portuguese and English. You can also visit the FAQ page on our website.

Download the guidelines and application pack for more information about funding and eligibility. 

Download the guidelines  Download the application form


SPRINT EditionCall for submissionsDeadline for submissionsResults announced
Sprint 02/2017 25/04/20167  31/07/2017 27/10/2017 

Previous SPRINT rounds

Well done to the following ATN researchers who were awarded grants as part of the second call for SPRINT proposals in 2016.

Researchers  Project title

Daniel Marcos Bonotto
Inst. Geociências Ciências Exatas Rio Claro / Unesp

Ashantha Goonetilleke
Queensland University of Technology (QUT)

Urban water cycle as the basis for creating a research agenda for sustainable development

Fabio Coral Fonseca
Inst. Pesquisas Energéticas Nucleares / SDECTSP

Ziqi Sun 
Queensland University of Technology (QUT)

Chemical fabrication of active nanomaterials for fuel cells on natural gas and bioethanol fuels

To see the full list please visit the FAPESP website. 

Please contact for information about previous SPRINT rounds.

Contact Us

ATN-FAPESP Institutional Contact Officers In the first instance enquiries should be directed to the relevant institutional ATN-FAPESP contact officer:

Ms Katie York
Manager, Research Development
Division of Research and Commercialisation
p. +61 7 3138 2199

RMIT University
Dr Reza Mohammed
Senior Coordinator, Research Development
p. +61 3 9925 1129

University of South Australia
Ms Jennifer Kasimov
Application Support Team Leader
p. +61 8 8302 3954

University of Technology Sydney
Ms Helen Thomson
Manager, Research Engagement
p. +61 2 9514 7452

Curtin University
Ms Katie Flanagan
Senior Research Development Officer 
p. +61 8 9266 4248